lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Augmenting speech/language therapy and multi-sensory reading tutoring

on October 9, 2016

autumn-leaves-1486075_1280

 

Hello October!  I love fall and I cannot believe it is flying by me.  Hopefully, I can get up to the mountains to see some beautiful colors later in the season.

I am always looking for ways to augment my therapy.  Yesterday, I learned about and was trained in Integrated Listening Systems.  http://www.integratedlistening.com  iLs will augment the multi-sensory reading tutoring that I do as well as speech and language therapy. I think I will try it out on myself first-at 61 I can use any and all ways to improve brain function!!

 

Osmo Words is another tool that I use to support speech/language and reading.

 

osmo-482x335-482x335

 

My students like this wordplay game.  The language processing required to make “smart guesses” and not act on the first thought that pops into one’s head, helps with impulse control too.

If you read my last post about the props I use with students who are working on impulse control, here is something else that I found to add to my therapy sessions –

 

51hwz8xwvkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_                                                                3097_12281145

 

My students identify with Hunter and his special brain.  They like the way he creates a tool to help him learn self-control skills.

Hope you find these helpful.

Best,

Robin

 

 

Leave a Reply

