lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Therapeutic and Non-Therapeutic Games Part 2

on January 10, 2016

 

bot

 

Anyone else struggle to get back on track last week?  I am not bouncing back from the Winter Break as quickly as I normally do.

Here are a couple more of the new games that I got to start the new year

Settlers-of-Catan-21

The fourth grade Lunch Buddies really like Catan.  We are still learning how to play this game but having fun while we learn. Catan is a strategy game.  In play, one must think deeply, creatively and critically. Catan helps players develop negotiation skills because one must trade to succeed.

When you bring a new game to your therapy room do you often hear, “I don’t know how to play that.  I don’t want to play.” I don’t hear it as often as I used to because the Lunch Buddies have learned to be more open to new things and flexible about game play.

When I introduced this executive functioning game last week, I had to flex my thinking skills along with the students.  It took me longer to learn what to!

 

 

FullSizeRender 10

FullSizeRender 9

Executive Functioning Game In or Out strengthens executive functioning skills, working memory, management of distractions, attention to detail, response inhibition, sustaining attention and mental shifting.  It is available as a download at http://goodsensorylearning.com.

I use several of Dr. Erica Warren’s cognitive remedial products for working memory, following directions and reversing reversals.

Check back ’cause there will be a Part Three!

My Best,

Robin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

