lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Therapeutic and Non-therapeutic Games for the New Year: Part 1

on January 3, 2016

I hope that everyone had an enjoyable and restful Winter Break.  Maybe you got some gift cards and are thinking about redeeming them for games to use in your therapy room.  I am so fortunate to work with such generous children and parents.

FullSizeRender

 

I found some good reading to assist me in making good shopping choices.

http://www.dfwplaytherapy.com/1/post/2015/02/ordinary-games-with-extraordinary-insight.html

Guest blogger, Kim Peterson, MA,LPC-S, RPT, details fifteen ways in which we can use non-therapeutic games to help gain a greater understanding of our student’s strengths and weaknesses as we observe their behaviors and emotions during game play.

Can’t wait to see how my young friends like

68419

Thumpin’ Thingdoodles builds color recognition and motor skills.  I think it will also serve as a brain break and help with mindful impulse control.  I bought this game from http://www.mindware.com.

This book has been around a while but it is new to me.

{69BB1680-069F-4D2F-BE78-B1705E0443F3}Img400

 

In my reading I discovered this therapeutic game

stop relax think

The Stop, Relax, and Think game is a cognitive-behavioral educational tool for children to learn feeling awareness, self-control, relaxation, and problem-solving skills.  It provides fun opportunities to practice the actual stopping of a behavior and learning to catch themselves before an automatic response or reaction occurs.  I have read many reviews of Stop, Relax, and Think and they all report how popular it is with their clients.  Looking forward to playing.

 

 

 

I am just getting started so check back this week to find out what other games I bought and what the students are saying about them.

My Best,

Robin

PS  What games are you playing in your therapy room?

4 responses to “Therapeutic and Non-therapeutic Games for the New Year: Part 1

  1. Julie Benson says:

    I’ve had huge successes with: “The Impulse Control Game”, “Journey To Friendsville”, “Hidden Rules” card game, and two cooperative games called, “The Secret Door” and “Mountaineering”. But, the most favorite the kids seems to like and ask all the time to play again is, “Boundaries Baseball”. If you were to choose one, I”d go for that one! 🙂
    Love your blog- I’ve used a lot of your great ideas in my school counseling sessions! Have you read the book, “Interrupting Chicken” to your groups? Pinterest has some worksheets you can use with that book as well. Happy New Year!

  2. mhkeiger says:

    Good list, Julie! You mentioned some that I don’t have yet.

  3. mhkeiger says:

    Robin, I really like the Stop game, too. It’s fun and therapeutic!

Leave a Reply

