lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Planning

on June 25, 2015

Sun flat stamp, vector illustration eps 10    If you are like me, you are always thinking and planning for the next school day, week, or year. It is difficult for me to turn off my work brain and relax. So, this morning as I enjoy my coffee on the deck, I am thinking about next school year. My caseload will change in a big way next year, and my focus will need to change as well. Many of the Lunch Buddies who have participated in social thinking skills groups are moving; some will go to a new city, some to middle school, and some to private schools.  For those students who remain on my caseload, what changes can I make to ensure that I am supporting them and their academic progress?

Flexible thinking will be a key strategy as I make a new plan and set new goals for myself and my students. Here are some results from my early morning brainstorming:

  • Be strategic.  I remember learning from Wayne Secord that third grade and beyond, my focus should be on helping students to be strategic.
  • Self-monitor.  Students should begin to learn how to self-check and self-monitor their behavior and work habits.
Leave a Reply

