lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Happy October

on October 6, 2014

October tag on colored hanging labels. Fall colors

 

Happy October everyone!  Lunch Buddies are groovin’ into the second month of school.

The number of preschool children on my caseload has increased this school year.  I know how to play and have fun but I am really challenged to find games and activities to hold the interest of 2-3 year olds.  If you, reader, have any good suggestions for this age group, please leave a comment!  I have Cariboo (so versatile) and Cariboo Island.  I have Zingo! and Go Fish. I have the Splingo app and many more.  Maybe I am the one getting bored.  I did find an app that is very appealing to these students.  The app is called Balloonimals.  The student can blow up the virtual balloons and make smart guesses about which animal it will be.  The 3 year olds request it as an incentive.

The T-rex is a favorite.  He roars and stomps his foot.

 

6a00d8341c145e53ef01156e676e9d970c

 

Last week I pulled out a homemade game and my student said,”No, I want to play a game in a box!”. Ha! I should probably just follow my own advice and rotate.  I do love it when I bring out a game that has not been in rotation for a while and the children are excited as if it is new again!

 

The 3rd graders played Stare!.  913FNT6FpTL._SL1500_

 

This game is on the list of recommended games and activities from Sarah Ward at http://cognitiveconnectionstherapy.com.  Stare! promotes episodic memory, attention and schematic thinking (executive skills).  Each picture in the game is an old fashioned, Normal Rockwell-like picture full of details.  Each player is allowed to “stare” at the picture for 20 seconds and then answer the questions that are provided.  Fun!

 

Have a good week!

Best,

Robin

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Happy October

  1. Hi Robin,

    That appears to be the wrong link for Cognitive Connections. Here’s the one that came up when I googled it: https://cognitiveconnectionstherapy.com/

    We’re so lucky to have Sara Ward in our area—my district brought her in to do a presentation to all the Special Ed providers a few years ago, and it was definitely in the top 3 trainings I’ve ever attended. Thanks for reminding me about this resource!

    • Thank you, Laurie, for bringing that to my attention. I corrected it!

      You are fortunate to have such a forward thinker as Ms. Ward in your area! I have not attended any of her presentations but I read everything she has written that I can get my hands on to learn and use her ideas.

Leave a Reply

