lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Defeating Bah! Humbug! Part 2

on December 8, 2013

hd-wallpapers-christmas-baubles-ornaments-no-11-desktop-wallpaper-1440x900-wallpaper

Just hung a colorful holiday wreath on my front door.  Looks very nice.   After a long day I like to be greeted by beauty.  Since the flowers are gone, the wreath will work just fine.

Candy continues to be a great way to defeat Bah! Humbug!  Room 99 is on the Kindergarten hall and I have so enjoyed watching the faces of the students as they pass by my room looking for Candy.  The first grade girls were so excited to see the message in the M&M’s that Candy made for them.

photo

She even taped some chocolate gold coins underneath chairs in the speech room for some lucky second grade boys.  Nice surprise.

2e762caeca6ea587

Group yoga was particularly fun this week.  The students form a Community Circle with Mrs. Rairden.

community-circle1From the Circle, more fun activities evolve.

photo

photo

These wonderful activities come from Yoga Pretzels by Tara Guber and Leah Kalish.

I have been waiting for the opportunity to use the new book that I purchased at the Social Thinking® Providers Conference

photo

I took this resource with me to a Parent/Teacher conference on Friday.  The purpose of the conference was to brainstorm ideas for motivating a particular student.  I suggested that maybe what appears to be a lack of motivation is actually Executive Dysfunction.  We all agreed that this particular student would benefit from some personal goal setting.  We also agreed to try the concepts presented in this curriculum.  Notice that I said “we”.  Parents, teachers and I will be focused on the same goal.  It takes a team to help a student get “unstuck and on target”!

My Best,

Robin

Leave a Reply

