lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Thinking Thoughts and Feeling Feelings

on September 27, 2013

I really like the Social Thinking® curriculum for preschool and early elementary.  The Incredible Flexible You is just the best! Mrs. Lindstrom’s kindergarten class is doing quite well with it.   This was our second week on Thinking Thoughts and Feeling Feelings.

I started the session with a mini-lesson on Whole Body Listening-

photo

Presenting the concept visually and making it interactive is the most effective way for my students.

Next, we listened to 2 awesome songs from the music CD.

TIFY_MUSIC_CD_COVER

Where You Think a Thought and Show Me What You are Feeling are such engaging songs.  We couldn’t help ourselves but to get up and dance and sing!

I use music in my whole class sessions for many reasons.  I am going to share Dr. Jean Feldman’s Reasons to Sing Every Day! Go to her website:  www.drjean.org for more information.  

  • When you sing your brain emits endorphins, and endorphins make you happy!  Emotions are critical to learning.
  • Music is multi-sensory.  The more senses you get going to the brain, the more likely the message will get there.
  • Music is powerful for prior-learning.  If children are exposed to concepts while singing, it is easier for them to learn when formally introduced.
  • Music nurtures phonemic awareness (alliteration, rhyme, etc.).
  • Songs and chants are a natural way to develop oral language and auditory memory.
  • Poems and songs lay a foundation for fluency and enhance short term memory.
  • Children are able to use their imaginations and create pictures in their brains when they sing.  This is an important part of reading comprehension.
  • Repetition is a key to learning.  It is much more fun to repeat songs than a worksheet!
  • Singing and dancing relieve stress and oxygenate the brain.
  • Through music and movement ALL children can feel successful.  A “community of learners” is enhanced when teachers and children enjoy something together.

I love Dr. Jean!

Then we read the book Thinking Thoughts and Feeling Feelings which is part of the Incredible Flexible You curriculum.  Thoughts are in your brain and feelings in your heart.  The characters in the book show the students how we have thoughts when we are alone and thoughts when we are around others.  Our behavior affects the way others think and feel about us.

photo

Then I got to use my new favorite visual-  the thought bubble.

photo

I tell the students that I think about so many things all the time.  I show them that I am thinking of something blue.  I ask the students to think with their eyes to look around them and try to guess what I am thinking of.

The outcome from last week’s session:  It is expected behavior to say “Hi” when someone says “Hi” to you.  I have never before been greeted so sweetly.  Mrs. Lindstrom’s kindergarteners have been saying “Hi” all week.  I have had good thoughts and good feelings about those friendly students.

Happy Friday Everyone!

My Best,

Robin

Leave a Reply

