lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Visuals to support my students in their classrooms

on August 23, 2013

visual-supports-see-and-understand

I have been a “busy bee” today!  I have printed and laminated some visual supports to give to the classroom teachers who will be teaching my students this fall.

Here’s one that I love, love, love!  Found it on Pinterest and you can visit http://rockandteach.blogspot.com for the freebie.

photo

 

 

Spoken language usually serves to increase rather than decrease stress levels.  Visuals help to create less stressful and smoother routine communication.   Rather than engage in a verbal exchange with a student the teacher can just hand this visual to the student or place it on the student’s desk.  I think this will be a better way of getting their attention than using words.  Sometimes I think what they hear is “Blah, Blah, Blah”.

When a student needs to be released from an activity he/she will make that need known one way or another.  If he/she does not have an expected and easy way to request out of the activity, we may see unexpected behavior serving as that communication.

 

photo

break_please_feeling_angry_2

 

I love empowering students to self-check and monitor their own feelings and behaviors.  This visual is perfect for just that.

photo

self-regulation_of_emotions

Just getting started!!!!

My Best,

Robin

PS   Autastic Avenues is very close to getting 100 Likes on the Facebook page.  Go over and Like!

4 responses to “Visuals to support my students in their classrooms

  1. Robin Parker says:

    Awesome post. Your students are so lucky that they have someone advocating for them in and out of the ‘speech room!

  2. HI! I shared this post on my FB page in the hope that other teachers will be able to have access to your wisdom, creativity and insights. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

