lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Prepare and Practice for “How I spent my summer vacation”

on August 5, 2013

summer vacation

A typical activity for the first day back at school is to share events of your summer vacation.  Even teachers/therapists “get” to do it as an ice breaker during staff development.  Bec Oakley writes in her blog post, The Really Big List of Back to School Tips for kids with ASD, “one of the hands-down absolute worst kill-me-now aspects of the first day back at school was having to sum up what I did over the summer break”  (http://www.snagglebox.com).  I totally agree with that!  Being put on the spot can erase even the most fun memory of summer in a matter of seconds and then all that comes out is “nothing” or “I don’t know”.

Helping your child by reviewing some of the highlights of the summer using pictures or making a list will increase their comfort level.  Practice how to answer that question “What did you do on your summer vacation?” both orally and in writing ( it is bound to happen that your child will be asked in conversation or to write it down).

Use a photo and write on the back two or three words or phrases to prompt your child to describe a really fun day during the summer.

I could use this photo

photo

List on the back:

  1. I went to the Goshen Pass, Goshen, Va.
  2. I had a picnic of chicken and potato salad
  3. I waded in the water and it was very cold.

Sometimes kids just don’t think that they did anything exciting.  Sometimes they just don’t like sharing.  We can help them by preparing and practicing.

My Best,

Robin

2 responses to “Prepare and Practice for “How I spent my summer vacation”

  1. Mrs. Rairden says:

    I am going to get my pictures and thoughts together! It is always good to plan ahead. See everyone soon….

  2. Karen says:

    Thanks for the idea! You are so right, and we will certainly work on this. Ian has done a lot of fun things this summer.

Leave a Reply

