lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

This and That (but important stuff)

on June 2, 2013


this-and-that

I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. 
Some come from ahead and some come from behind. 
But I’ve bought a big bat.  I’m all ready you see. 
Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!” 

– Dr. Seuss, iconic children’s book author.

Just reading this helps me get through the day!

My gig as an SOL tester is finished.  It was a fun four days, but I will be happy to be back on schedule.  Many more meetings set for the next two weeks.  My head spins just thinking about it.

As I participated in IEP meetings last week and discussed the goals and objectives for my students with social thinking deficits, the subject of the same goal from last years IEP also appearing on this years proposed IEP was on the table for debate.  My colleague suggested that social skill demands change over time and over environments.  Unlike a math goal that can be mastered (multiplication tables) some social skills goals may always be a struggle and therefore, some goals may appear on the IEP from one year to the next.  I agree.  I would appreciate your thoughts,Followers.  Let’s discuss this topic here on the blog.

Another topic is standardized tests for eligibility.  Michelle Garcia Winner writes, “Standardized tests generally provide the least amount of information about  student’s social skill abilities or social pragmatics.  The spontaneous nature of social skills defies assessing through a standardized test.”  I use the Pragmatic Profile of the Clinical Evaluation of Language Fundamentals-4.  It is a criterion referenced test but gives me the best information from a variety of communication settings.  I welcome a discussion here on this topic.

Here is a great video on Executive Functions.  Autism Live is a webcast that I discovered on YouTube and it is hosted by a mom.  She invites expert guests to discuss a variety of topics.  I like her so much ’cause she is so real!

I don’t remember where I read this but I can’t forget it’s importance:

Academic knowledge does not equal social knowledge

Knowledge of skills does not equal skill competency

1:1 skill usage does not equal generalization

Enough rambling for one day,

Robin

Leave a Reply

