lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Back to Executive Functions

on May 11, 2013

PlanningGoalsPersonPuzzle

Studying social skills, social thinking and perspective taking always brings me back to executive function skills.  Here is a visual to help us see what are executive functions-

ExecutiveFuncionLove this! Go to http://asdculture.wikispaces.com for a better view and more info (good info!).

I have wondered about the developmental sequence of executive control skills.  I found a list from the book Executive Function Skills in Children and Adolescents, by Peg Dawson and Richard Guare.  To download a free EF skills check-list go to: http://www.nspt4kids.com.

At the social thinking conference last week, Michelle Garcia Winner mentioned an expert with whom she works closely.  This expert, Sara Ward, is a speech/language pathologist with a clinic that specializes in helping children who have executive function difficulties.  I have been perusing her work this weekend.  She has also broken these skills down by age.  Her practice is called Cognitive Connections.  Through a Google search of  Sara Ward executive function skills, I was able to find good information.

My plan is to put together a packet of info for parents concerning this topic.  Contact me for a share.

Best,

Robin

4 responses to “Back to Executive Functions

  1. debbietslp says:

    Hi Robin,

    I love your blog which I found about a month ago and have been following since. I work at an elementary school and a K-8 span school in Southern California and have many students with AS, HFA or other EF challenges on my caseload. You have many helpful ideas, just taking this opportunity to thank you.

    I heard Sarah Ward present at the 2012 Social Thinking Providers Conference – she is amazing. I would love a copy of your parent Ed packet!

    Debbie Thornhill, M.A., CCC-SLP Speech Language Pathologist

  2. Thank you so much for your comment, Debbie. Michelle Garcia Winner told us at her conference last week that if we liked her presentation, we would love Sara Ward!! I hope to have a chance to see/hear her in the future. I will let you know when the packet is ready : )

    Robin

  3. Hi Robin, I love your blog and the info you share. Sarah Ward is a dear friend and colleague of mine and her work is incredible. I wanted to let you and your readers know that Sarah is going to be presenting a full day workshop in East Brunswick, New Jersey, on Sat., Sept 28, 2013 on Practical Strategies for Teaching Executive Function. The workshop is appropriate for both parents and professionals. For more info go to http://www.psllcnj.com .

Leave a Reply

