lunchbuddiesplus

Learning and Sharing

Using video to teach social skills

on March 10, 2013

Video-editing

Using video modeling to teach children with ASD taps into their strongest processing modality.  “Many people  with autism are visual thinkers.  I think in pictures.  I do not think in language.  All my thoughts are like videotapes running in my imagination.  Pictures are my first language, and words are my second language.”  Teaching Tips for children and Adults with Autism, Temple Grandin, PhD.

Most children are highly interested, motivated and attentive to videos.  Video modeling gives them the opportunity to observe, imitate and learn the skills and behaviors of their typically developing peers.  We like to use video so that our students can view, learn and practice skills needed to participate in the community in a safe environment before trying them out in the real world.  Students can view socal behaviors expected in specific settings to prepare them for that setting.

We focused on showing interest last week and I found a great short video clip to illustrate what it is like to try to talk to someone who does not show interest in someone else (AKA Unwonderer).

I subscribed to xtranormal and hope to make some videos of my own.

Check out YouTube Video Links for Social Skills at http://jillkuzma.wordpress.com and YouTube Links for Social Skills at http://AUsomelysocial.wordpress.com

I found a great short, simple video to help us when we explore that super power of respect.  I will share that one when we get there!

The sun is shining and I want to get out in the yard and make it purty!  Enjoy your Sunday everyone!

Robin

Leave a Reply

